If you want to remove your Google Business Profile (GBP) so that it is no longer visible in search and map results, you have several options. For seasonal or temporary closures, you can Mark your profile temporarily closedto let customers know you’ll be back at a later date. For permanent closures, you can mark the profile as permanently closed or request that it be permanently removed from Maps so that it is no longer visible.
Reasons for removing a Google business profile
There are several reasons why people want to remove their business listings. Depending on which scenario you run into, you should make sure you follow the correct instructions below.
- Your business is permanently closed. This is the most common
- A business profile was created for a business that does not exist or is not eligible for listing. The profiles can also be removed completely.
- Your business is closed seasonally or temporarily. There are an option to mark a business profile as temporarily closed. This keeps the profile active in Search and Maps and receives new reviews, but shows customers that the business is not currently open to customers.
How to mark an entry as permanently closed
Note: If you mark a business as permanently closed, your business profile may continue to appear in search and maps for people who search for it. It clearly shows that your business is closed.
Permanently closed entries are difficult for users to find. Google intentionally hides them because they are not particularly valuable to users. Often the only way to trigger them on Google search is to enter the exact name or a combination of name and address if it’s an old location.
To mark an entry as permanently closed:
- Go to your business profile
- Select “Edit Profile”
- Select the Hours tab at the top.
- Next to “Opening Hours,” click “Edit,” then select “Permanently Closed.”
How to completely delete a Google entry
Disclaimer – THIS PROCESS IS PERMANENT. DO NOT REMOVE A GOOGLE LISTING UNLESS YOU ARE SURE YOU WANT YOUR ENTIRE LISTING TO BE REMOVED FROM GOOGLE.
If you actually want to delete a GBP listing, you can do so from the Google Business Profile dashboard. There are a few things you should keep in mind:
- Any posts, photos or videos added by profile owners or managers will be permanently removed.
- If your website was built with Google Business Profile, this is permanent
- Removed profile content cannot be restored or managed.
- Only owners and primary owners can remove a Google businessSS profile
To remove your listing, go to your profile, click the three dots in the top right corner and click At Company profile settings. Choose Remove company profileand click Remove profile content and managers.
Choose Keep goingAnd Removethen click Completed.
After removing your profile content and managers, here’s what you need to do Deselect “Mark your business as permanently closed”
Marking a Google business profile as temporarily closed
Temporarily closing an entry is a fairly simple process. In the Google Business Profile dashboard, click the Edit Profile icon:
Then click the “Edit” button next to the “Hours” section and you should see an option to mark the listing as temporarily closed:
Do not Use that Opening date function if your business is temporarily closed. Setting the opening date to a future date will make your listing and reviews invisible in Google Search and Maps.
Determine which type of GBP closure is best for your business
Closing a Google Business listing can be a strategic decision for a variety of reasons, including rebranding, moving, or going out of business. Ultimately, the decision to remove a Google Business profile depends on individual circumstances and the specific goals and needs of each business.
Don’t know what to do? We can help! Visit localsearchforum.com and share with the community or go to the Google Business Profile Help Community to speak with a Google Business Profile product expert to determine the best course of action.